February 27, 2008

The Lord of the Rings

Posted in Readinglights at 3:53 am by qballkubal

Hehehehe, the reason why I haven’t reviewed any books lately is because I’ve been stuck with this one thousand something pages of story about the Middle Earth since October last year. Yup, you don’t read it wrong, it’s more than one thousand pages (including the appendix about the life, calendar, and race description of people of Middle Earth). I bought the all three books of The Lord of The Rings in one volume compilation edition. As it was on sale at that time, I didn’t want to miss that chance.

I think I don’t have to explain what the story about this book, for a lot of people have watch the movie over many times. Instead, I want to tell you about the difference between the book and the movie. Well, it is indeed different in many ways although the plot is still the same. This is probably the only book I’ve ever read so far with so much richness in English literature. Not even Harry Potter by J. K. Rowling or To Kill The Mocking Bird by Harper Lee have the same richness as LOTR. Tolkien are sure one hell of genius who can create such vast imaginary world.

The only thing that bothers me is that I have to open the dictionary every time I read the book. Hehehe, some of the words are not even listed in there. Damn! Is this book that old?

Leave a Reply

